“The Forsaken Inn” by Anna Katharine Green

Synopsis 

The Forsaken Inn is a historical mystery novel set in the late 18th century, about a young newly-wed couple staying the night at the Inn, and leaving the next day. Several years later a secret room is discovered with the bride’s body in it. But, many people saw the bride leave with her new husband. How is that possible?

My Review
⭐ & ❤︎

1 star. This was an interesting mystery, well written and sometimes funny. However, the whole point of the story was a woman living with a man unmarried for years & having a child with him. I like mysteries, but there are plenty out there without these sins. I deleted this book and don’t intend to ever reread it. Green is the sort of author where you have to take each book independently. I’ve liked some of her books, and disliked others. It all depends on the mystery.

Add on Goodreads

Tags: 1-of-10-heartsadventure-genreamerican-fiction-and-nonfictionclassics-genredo-not-recommendfrench-fiction-and-nonfictionhisfic-1800shistorical-fiction-genremystery-suspense-thriller-spy-etcromance-genresecular-booksstandalones.

Published by Katja H. Labonté

Hi! I’m Katja :) I’m a Christian, an extreme bibliophile who devours over 365 books in a year, and an exuberant writer with a talent for starting short stories that explode into book series. I am a bilingual French-Canadian and have about a dozen topics I'm excessively passionate about (hint: that’s why I write). I spend my days enjoying little things, growing in faith, learning life, and loving people. Welcome to my corner of the internet!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started