“The Marshland Mystery” by Kathryn Kenny

Synopsis 

The weather is finally warming up in Sleepyside and Trixie has plans for her and her best friend Honey. They’re going to lonely Martin’s Marsh to collect herbs and flowers for botany class. But Honey’s family has a visitor, a child who wants to tag along on Trixie’s and Honey’s expeditions. How can Trixie explore the mysterious burned-out house by the marsh and look for Captain Kidd’s hidden pirate treasure with a kid along?

My Review
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ & ❤︎❤︎❤︎❤︎❤︎❤︎❤︎

5+ stars (7/10 hearts). Now THIS was a great Trixie book!! It had two mysteries instead of one, it was perfectly heartwarming, and Trixie did no silly or awkward things. 😝 As usual, the family relationship was amazing. Jim & Brian were awesome, Mart + Trixie were epic, and Honey was sweet, as always. I even liked Gaye at the end, & Miss Rachel was sweet. I just wish Dan showed up!!! 

I really enjoyed the mysteries that were interwoven along with the plot of helping out Miss Rachel and the teacher, and the addition of Gaye and her aunt. It all made for a very well done and well-layered story. Definitely one of the best so far. And I have to mention I love how these books all follow a chronology, unlike Nancy Drew!

A Favourite Quote: “‘I’ll say she had to practice! … Her loving aunt marched down to the clubhouse personally and dragged her, weeping, to the practice dungeon.’
“Mart leaned against the car and snickered. ‘Weeping? Yowling like a banshee, you told me, friend. As I recollect, you said she yelled louder than Bobby with soap in both eyes!’”

Read free on Archive

Add on Goodreads

Tags: 7-of-10-heartsadventure-genreamerican-fiction-and-nonfictionclassics-genreclean-or-squeaky-secular-fictioncontemporary-to-their-time-genrecountryside-booksfriendship-story-booksgood-family-relationship-bookshisfic-1900shistorical-fiction-genrei-want-this-paperbackmy-favourite-booksmystery-suspense-thriller-spy-etcprimary-source-info-booksreadsecular-booksseriessnark-and-sass-booksspring-bookswell-done-characters-bookswell-done-plot-bookswell-done-writing-style-booksyoung-adult-genre.

Published by Katja H. Labonté

Hi! I’m Katja :) I’m a Christian, an extreme bibliophile who devours over 365 books in a year, and an exuberant writer with a talent for starting short stories that explode into book series. I am a bilingual French-Canadian and have about a dozen topics I'm excessively passionate about (hint: that’s why I write). I spend my days enjoying little things, growing in faith, learning life, and loving people. Welcome to my corner of the internet!

2 thoughts on ““The Marshland Mystery” by Kathryn Kenny

  1. I e only reason the first one and maybe the second..? But I wanted to read them in order and I think I only had the first and third so… 🤭 that’s just me. I’m not a big fan or Nancy Drew or Hardy Boys or Boxcar Children…I definitely think TB overrides all of them! Even after reading only one book!! Like you said, they follow chronology and I think she and Honey don’t say the same age…at least I hope they grow up! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started