“Escape & Endurance” by Sarah Holman

Synopsis 

Edna believes herself to be a worthless servant.
Sir Andrew knows himself to be the most respected and valuable knight.
One event will cause both to discover where their value truly lies.
When Princess Gail is on her way to visit friends, some men kidnap the princess to demand a ransom. They don’t realize that they’ve made a mistake and who they have is not the pampered princess, but her faithful servant, Edna. Carried far from home, Edna knows that no matter what she does, she won’t survive.
Sir Andrew sets off to rescue the princess, taking no time to assess what has truly happened or to allow his men to help him. What should have been a quick and heroic mission turns into a long journey that is full of dangers, obstacles, and trials. Will he be forced to turn back or will he be able to make it to the tower where the princess is being held?

My Review
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ & ❤︎❤︎❤︎❤︎❤︎

5 stars. I enjoyed this story. The lessons of pride & endurance spoke to my heart. This story was medievally accurate, even if the language was sometimes a bit modern. The growing Catholicism of the church didn’t bug me very much in this story because it was hardly present. I loved the lessons; really, they were amazing. The story was less exciting than the others, but it was crammed full of amazing reminders. The characters were good too, even if I feel like Christopher has lowered his standards a little… he disappointed me. But Edna, Andrew, & Philip were very good and I’m eager to see them again. 🙂

A Favourite Quote: “Your courage to remove yourself from the cause of your pride gained the attention of many people.”
“They do not see it as courageous, they see it as foolishness. They do not ask me what has changed my heart, but what has caused me to go mad.”
“Yet, isn’t the result the same? You’re given a chance to tell them, to pass on the message
[of Christ].”
A Favourite Humorous Quote: Now all eyes in the court were on the two of them, Andrew wished he could go back to being an invisible member of the crowd. This was not how he had wanted things to happen.”

Purchase on Amazon
America | Canada

Add on Goodreads

Tags: 5-of-10-heartsadventure-genrechristian-fiction-genrefantasy-and-kingdom-fiction-genrei-want-this-paperbackindie-author-self-published-booksmy-favourite-books, romance-genreseries.

Published by Katja H. Labonté

Hi! I’m Katja :) I’m a Christian, an extreme bibliophile who devours over 365 books in a year, and an exuberant writer with a talent for starting short stories that explode into book series. I am a bilingual French-Canadian and have about a dozen topics I'm excessively passionate about (hint: that’s why I write). I spend my days enjoying little things, growing in faith, learning life, and loving people. Welcome to my corner of the internet!

One thought on ““Escape & Endurance” by Sarah Holman

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started